Furniture design question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Dale Allen

Dale Allen

Any furniture designers out there?:wink:
Or anyone's opinion is accepted.
I am about half way through this octagon table and cannot decide about the bottom of the legs. I was thinking of tapering them at the bottom below the cross supports. It is about 3" to the floor and I was thinking of tapering them outward about 1".
Or maybe just taper all 4 side slightly as in about a 1/2" 45 degree bevel.
This will get a plywood bottom and a plexiglass top that will be removable.
I plan to use it as a table and a display case. Maybe even put some lights inside.:)
Thanks for looking and commenting.

Dale

Attachments

• oct_table.jpg
    oct_table.jpg
    53.9 KB · Views: 237
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

leehljp

Member Liaison
"Or maybe just taper all 4 side slightly as in about a 1/2" 45 degree bevel."

I am not a designer, but build a lot of my own. Good designs are hit or miss for me, so don't rely on me. Still, that idea is one that appeals to me in my imagination. (Sometimes reality looks and my imagination don't match.) :biggrin:

I like that design so far! Going to be beautiful work!

Dale Allen

Hank/Charlie, thank you for the kind words and advise.
That is my first choice too so that will be it.
Hehe...much easier too!

tomas

It will be interesting to see what you settle on. It looks like a really nice table. What kind of wood is it? It looks like Lyptus to me.

Tomas

Dale Allen

I don't know about the idea of all 4 corners too. Since the leg is not square it may look odd. I have a section of that left over so I'll do a test of both. And using a contrasting wood would be more trouble than worth.
The wood is rift sawn red oak. Except for the legs which turned out to be quarter sawn.