First bowl ever and I got questions

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from Nolan

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nolan

OK this is my first attempt at a bowl, so please go easy on me:D. After I finish cutting the inside of the bowl what is the best way to sand and finish this type of bowl? I think I like the shape so far I just need to finish the inside. I was also going to put a little lip on the inside where the bowl meets the wings. So if I could get your opinions that would be great.

2007422192521_blanks%20035.jpg

2007422192544_blanks%20036.jpg

2007422192712_blanks%20037.jpg

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

exoticwo

Nolan,
I would put it back on the lathe and turn that nub off then sand to at least 600 grit. Red Mallee, like other burls have small depressions requiring extra attention when sanding. A good finish cut will go a long way and helping to cut down on sanding. Would like to see the bowl when finished.

Rifleman1776

You choose a very challenging project for your first bowl. If you can chuck from the back, that tenon should be removed. Some more turning with a bowl scraper can smooth up a lot of that. If you don't have a fancy powered, angle head, bowl sander, just hand sanding at low speed should do. Don't start too coarse or you will get deep scratches that will be near impossible to remove.

jtate