Berea Hardwoods Jar Opener, Finishing the Ends?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
See more from BKind2Anmls

BKind2Anmls

I am a novice turner trying to make these darn jar openers for Christmas. I've gotten my centers straightened out thanks to the advice I found here but now I need help on finishing the ends.

I turn the spindle, sand it, finish it and then part off the tail stock end. Then I take it to the bandsaw and cut off the headstock end. This gives me two ends with little flat areas.

I went to my first woodturning club meeting and asked them about chucking the turned blank so I could round over the ends and finish them. They suggested I use the chuck but wrap something soft around the blank so that the chuck ridges wouldn't damage the finished blank.

I wrapped the blank in that spongy "shelf paper" material that you can get at Big Lots for $2 a roll but will get charged $20 for the same thing as a "router pad" (sorry, getting off topic).

I wrapped the blank, put it into my PSI Barracuda chuck with the long pen blank arms (there are two arms) and turned on the lathe. I heard the blank slam into the wall somewhere and it took me quite a while to find it.

I had tightened it in the chuck as much as I dared but I didn't want to hurt the finish.

Is there any way to use the lathe to round over the ends and finish them?

Should I have really cranked down on the chuck?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dale Allen

On the first one I did, I left a section of the blank on both ends and turned it between centers. After turning it to shape I left just enough at the ends to keep it turning and finishing most of the blank. I then turned off the ends and sanded and hand finished the small nubs in the end.
Trying to hold the blank in a chuck will only work if there is an area that will stabilize it in the jaws or if there are 2 areas the same diameter, such as the end and the middle. It is tricky and as you found out, dangerous too.