Why a 5 blank mold instead of 3

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

DLGunn

Most larger molds are made around 5" by 5" and around 1" deep. That will typically yield 5 pen blanks.

Is there any reason for the number 5? I am new to casting and I don't see me needing 5 pens of the same color scheme. Is there any reason a mold made to yield 3 pen blanks wouldn't be ok?

I plan on getting some plastic cutting boards to make a few molds out of, if I can find some thick enough. Or I may end up making a couple of silicon molds by using the tutorial in The Library.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Edgar

New Member Advocate
Staff member
Just guessing, but the 5x5 size might be somewhat standard so it will fit into a pressure pot for those folks who pressurize their castings (very helpful with Alumilite casting).

If you don't plan to do pressure casting, you can make your own molds whatever size you want and for as many blanks at a time as you want. If you do plan on pressure casting, you can still make them whatever size you want as long as they will fit in the pressure pot.

DLGunn

Scott, I forgot to put in the OP that I will be casting with Alumilite. I know you can still use PVC for that, but I think I would rather have a mold. I may do some worthless wood casting as well.

JohnU