What is best Casting

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

BeeAMaker

Depends on what your doing but here is my 2cents.

I prefer Alumilite, but can be cloudy if not mixed right or sits on the shelf too long. Turn nice with little to no chipping. Requires a pressure pot to get a bubble free cast.

I am still testing/playing with a new kid on the block, Liquid Diamonds. Not sure I like it yet and it takes 24hours to de-mold and 48 hours to fully cure. It is still quite soft and flexible after 24 hours. However it does not require a pressure pot and it seems to be a bit more clear than Alumilite.

I have not tried polyesters yet, but from turning experience, the "esters" are very brittle and are pron to chipping, especially for the inexperienced turner. I've had my hard knocks more than once ;) However it can give a better polish and you can achieve some spectacular color patterns.

Last edited:
I'm pretty new to casting, maybe 35 blanks or so under my belt now. I tried the polyester resin they sell at Penn State and it worked OK for my tube in casting trials with some carbon fiber blanks I made up. However, it took quite some time to get fully hard and as mentioned, it's very very brittle.

So, I dropped some cash on a pressure pot and picked up some Alumilite. Clear casting is silly easy with the 1 to 1 ratio and it turns like butter. Doing the fancy mixed colors is a bit of a learning process so plan on tossing some money into resin to experiment with.

I am now fully in the love/hate relationship with Alumilite when it comes to turning. The good thing is that is turns smoooooth with a skew or carbide tool. The bad thing is it turns so smooth. You get LONG ribbons of material that love to wrap around the mandrel. Drives me a little crazy but I'll take that over the brittle nature of some other products.

Tim'sTurnings