Vacuum question?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

swirlman

Getting ready to do some stabilization on some spalted maple. This will be my first time at this. Have the HF pot and venturi vacuum pump. Did a test run with the pot empty and my compressor will get me approx. -25 vacuum. Will this be enougth to do the job? I wll be using the acetone/plexi mix to stabalize the blanks. Also how long should the blanks be under vacuum? Do I drill the blanks before they go in the pot? I've looked thru the archives and past post on this subject and didn't see any answers for my questions. If those that have used the HF pot set up could help me out I would appreciate any help/info. I'm fairly new at turning pens, have done about 75 and really like the look of the spalted maple but would like it to be more solid to cut down on the CA usage. Thanks, swirlman

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

alamocdc

Yep, that should be plenty good. If you're talking about the HF paint pot, I'm not sure what the acetone fumes would do to the rubber gasket. If that's the case, be prepared to replace it unless you are using a separate lid. Draw a vacuum and let it sit for about an hour then release and let it sit for a few hours and repeat the process several times. I don't use my paint pot for vacuum.

swirlman

Thanks Bill for the info. I didn't think about the acetone damaging the gasket on the lid but that makes sense. I think I'll go with a thick piece of plexi for the lid and save the original for casting blanks under pressure. I still would like to know if drilling the blanks before stabilizing would help the process. George R.

DocRon

" I think I'll go with a thick piece of plexi for the lid"
Hummm. Plexi for the lid...acetone is the solvent for plexi ... pulling a vacuum, which vaporizes acetone from the solution... hummm.