trying to dial in a process

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

btboone

It seems simple enough. I'm attempting to do a thick clear coating on cherry burl blanks and am running into walls everywhere I go.

I have done some prototypes with a thick CA finish. This gives the look I need. The problem is the wood has all sorts of holes and checks and stuff. It took me 5 hours to do one to the look I wanted. There was a lot of going back and filling stuff, etc. The trick is I will have to make a batch of hundreds, so I won't have the time to do that. This is my first time making a big batch of wood pens!

I bought a pressure pot, a vacuum chamber, and I have a small kiln with a good controller. I made a fixture to be able to over cast 54 blanks at a time. There are machined plastic plugs on either side and an outer thin plastic tube for the resin to be molded in. It took several tries in Alumilite to get less than disastrous results. The first few times had massive clouding and the next had only a coudy area right near the surface. From what I gather, this is due to some moisure either on the wood or in the airline or whatever. I did have one turn out OK.

My process is that I glued in the tubes in stabilized wood then turned them about .015" per side smaller than flush on the CNC. After the casting overcoating operation. the parts were turned exactly to flush. The CNC is very repeatable, and the parts were turned consistently. I ideally, I'd like to take the hand turning inaccuracies out and speed stuff up.

What I found on my one good part was that Alumilite essentially doesn't polish out! You can still see the fine sanding marks, even when hit pretty aggressively on a polishing wheel. That is a show stopper. I tried Polyester last night, and it completely pulled away from the wood. Another No Go.