Stabilizing Mesquite

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Cotton

I'm new at stabilizing and trying some cross cut mesquite. It's been 12 hours and I'm still getting a fair amount of bubbles. Is this normal? The only other wood I've done was spalted and the bubbles stoped and the wood sank to the bottom. Is this the results I'm going for with all wood?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Imaginethat

I'm not the expert, but what I have read, seen and done is to weigh the wood down to the bottom of the pot. The wood is left in until there are no more bubbles. Only my 2 cents.

KenV

Did you dry it in the oven for a day or two first???

Even with super dry wood, it can take 24-30 hours for fine texture woods like mesquite

(I seldom treat mesquite unless there are punky places like come with roots)

Cotton

Thanks for the replies. They are completely submerged and I dried them in the oven for around 26 hours. The last 6 hours had no weight change so I figured it was as dry as I could get it. My hopes are to turn a pen with the end grain showing down the side of the pen. Tried it once without stabilizing and the wood fell apart. I guess I just need to be patient.

Last edited:

KenV

Cross cut blanks are a challenge. I have best success with shearing cuts and use skew or spindle gouge or Hunter carbide tool in shear cutting mode.

Flat top scrapers laid over and shear cuts riding the bevel can,work but are a tricky to develop the feel with out catching.

Cotton

Cross cut blanks are a challenge. I have best success with shearing cuts and use skew or spindle gouge or Hunter carbide tool in shear cutting mode.

Flat top scrapers laid over and shear cuts riding the bevel can,work but are a tricky to develop the feel with out catching.

Was the wood you cut stablized? Being a newbi I need all them help I can get.

KenV

Was the wood you cut stablized? Being a newbi I need all them help I can get.