Stabilization Help Question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

pjkoths

Hello -
I am new to pen turning and Wood Stabilization - learning a lot from everyone here - Thank You!

I have stabilized spalted pen blanks and noticed that at the beginning the wood floats and upon completion of the vacuum process the wood no longer floats it sinks to the bottom of the juice.

Here is my question - I have just stabilized my first batch of Maple Burl and when complete with the vacuum process the wood still floats. It was in the vacuum chamber for over 3 hours and there were a very very slight intermittent bubble or two, not much different than I have seen with my limited experience. Is this normal?

Thanks,
Pete

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Camardelle

If they're still submerged give them some time. I was getting tiny bubbles a couple days ago from some maple. Three pieces sank and one floated like a dead goldfish till the next morning. They're still soaking.

Camardelle

And for the record I don't claim to be the definitive authority on this. There are many here and elsewhere who surpass my knowledge. This is just based on my experience. I hope it helped.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Tim'sTurnings

I would put them back into the vacuum chamber and make sure your vacuum pump is running the whole time you have them in there at full vacuum. My pieces of spalted pecan pen blanks took a lot more time than you stated for yours. I keep mine in vacuum until I see NO bubbles, but I don't have a lot of experience either. But I do know to make sure that the vacuum pump is running the whole time your pieces are in there and, as you are doing, let them soak when you take them out. They should all sink when full of the stabilizing solution, in my opinion. Good luck.
Tim.

pjkoths

Thank you for all your help.