Simlar 41--------Do you like it---????

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Gary Max

I am wanting to change brands of casting resin. This is a effort to be more cost effective on my blanks. So how many folks out there like or dislike Simlar 41??????????
Thanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

its_virgil

I've been using it for almost three years now. To be honest, I can't tell any difference in it and what I was getting from Douglas and Sturgess (http://www.artstuf.com). Others say they can tell and think D&S has better resin. I disagree. I've talked to several possible resin suppliers trying to find a cheaper resin and it seems that Silmar 41 is a very popular brand and several of the suppliers I found sell it. Oh, to answer your question, I like it! [:D]
Do a good turn daily!
Don
Originally posted by Gary Max
<br />I am wanting to change brands of casting resin. This is a effort to be more cost effective on my blanks. So how many folks out there like or dislike Simlar 41??????????
Thanks

Gary Max

Don thanks for sharing your thoughts---it's just what I needed to hear and from the right person. Heck if it works for you it MUST be good.
The folks over at at ArtStuff are killing me with thier shipping cost. It got so bad that I had to stop casting.
I felt like I was over chargeing folks for blanks.

mrplace

Gary, get in the phone book and look for fiberglass suppliers. There are usually a couple suppliers to the auto, boat and fabrications industries. Most of them carry some brand of "water clear" resin.

I am not Glasgow or Somerset, but here is one in Nashville. Maybe the shipping would be cheaper, I know you can get the product cheaper.

Nashville, Tennessee
1642 JP Hennessey Dr.
La Vergne, TN 37086-3520
888-457-3401

Gary Max

Don -- that looks like where I am going to buy from---it's over a 100 miles to a real town--- so everything has to be shipped in.
Thanks for the help.

cozee