Resin Coloring Disappeared!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mikepet

I am a newbie using the Hobby Lobby 32 oz polyester resin. It sticks to high heaven, but no need for a pressure pot, so that is what I went with.

I'd rather have a lot of colors to experiment with rather than a single expensive bottle or two of whatever.

I used acrylic paint, an 8 set of flourescent and glitter colors. I used Blue and Orange. Mixing each into its own cup, adding the catalyst and stir like crazy.

Then, pour into the mold. The blue/orange swirled nicely and it seemed like things were going to work great.

As it started curing, I noticed that the orange started to get smaller and smaller area wise. By the time it was semi-cured it was blue and green. Ok, green makes sense.. the orange combined with the blue to make greenish.
Next time I would just let it sit a bit longer so its thicker before pouring.

But then once it was completely cured, the green was also gone! The entire thing is blue... but cloudy looking. I actually really like it... a semi-opaque blue cloudy look with blue/white swirls.

The question is: What happened? The orange die was fine when in the cup, even after adding catalyst and stirring. And when pouring it was fine.

Id appreciate any pro tips.

Also, how to get more resin for cheaper. Right now its 25 bucks, minus 40% coupon for 32 oz.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JohnU