Pressure Pot Protocol

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jbg230

I'm brand new at casting. I've read and watched as much as I could about it over the last several weeks.
I got a great deal on a used, but excellent condition Binks pot (80 psi max). Mackenziedrums, Zac Higgins and Curtis Seeback were great in helping me make a decision about the purchase.
Turns out, after all the set up and using Loctite 545 to install the fittings, I became paranoid during the first fill to 60 psi. The bad stories on this site and the web had me a little intimidated sticking my ear next to all the connections listening for air. I kept thinking that this would be a great story as to how I got a real plate (lid) in my head.
It's all good though. No air leaks as of now. I'll adjust the safety valve to 80 psi to keep me comfortable, but I want to make sure I'm doing this right...

I connect the air hose (male end) to the pot (female end) with the ball valve closed. Does it matter if the air hose has the male end or the female end?

I'm filling the compressor tank to 100 psi. I slowly open the ball valve on the pot until the gauge on the pot reads 60psi. Close the ball valve. Release the pressure in the compressor tank. Does it matter if I connect the air hose with an empty compressor then turn on the compressor and close the ball valve when the pot is at 60 psi (or less if appropriate)?

Then to off gas, I open the ball valve and the pressure is released through the open valve on the compressor. Does it matter that I'm not using a regulator?

It seems like I should have a "T" fitting with another ball valve on the pot to be able to release the pressure at the pot. Does it matter that I'm releasing the pressure through the compressor tank?

I guess with a regulator, I could put a ball valve at the compressor, and stand away from the pot when filling, but I'm in such close quarters, I'm not sure if it matters and I from what I see out there, it seems a little too paranoid/overkill.