Need a new pot

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

bushwacked

So I am in need of a new pot. 2 1/2 gal is what I have and seems to be a good size. I don't mind going bigger but would rather not drop the extra money.

I have heard people getting the harbor freight pot and upgrading the fittings. Not sure I trust something going boom with HF quality.

Thoughts? Is it ok? Or what others should I be looking into?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

liljohn1368

I've been using a hf pot for about 6 months now. Haven't had any issues. I run around 50 to 55 pspi.Got it for a little over 70$ with the 20% off coupon. Hope this helps.

bushwacked

I've been using a hf pot for about 6 months now. Haven't had any issues. I run around 50 to 55 pspi.Got it for a little over 70$ with the 20% off coupon. Hope this helps.

Did you replace all the fittings with new ones like I have read a lot of people doing?

Kenny Durrant

I have one that I've used for years. I didn't necessarily re[place fittings. I bought different ones and moved others. Like I said I've had it for years and since day one I had to really tighten down on the bolts. Now it feels like the threads are stretched or pulled. The bolts don't move as smoothly as they should. It's been a good pot but now I'm worried about the screws failing so I've been thinking about a new pot. I'm not sure where to start so I'm interested in the replies you get. I'd buy another HF but I don't see myself stopping casting so I thought about upgrading.

bushwacked

found a 20% off coupon .. so I think I will just go grab one of the HF pots for now to get me through a few years hopefully before I need something else. Or at least time to save up for some nice ones.

Kenny Durrant