Moldmaking And Casting

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

smoothonjason

Hi, my name is Jason Reese, I am a technical sales rep at Smooth-On, Inc.
I am new to the penturning craft, but would be willing to help with any moldmaking or resin casting questions you have.
Has anyone tried any Smooth-On resins for casting blanks?
Thanks.

Jason
jason@smooth-on.com

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

its_virgil

Send me a sample and I'll gve it a try.:biggrin::biggrin: Welcome and have fun casting...
Do a good turn daily!
Don

I am new to the penturning craft, but would be willing to help with any moldmaking or resin casting questions you have.
Thanks.

Jason
jason@smooth-on.com

PaulDoug

I didn't read where he mentioned samples... Looks like you buy at the website. It is a pretty busy site and lots to read. I plan on spending some time there.

Welcome to the forum.

PTownSubbie

He didn't mention samples but they do sell a sample kit of their OOMOO silicone kits.

I have been using their OOMOO products for some time now making my own molds. It rocks and is very economical and easy to use!!

NewLondon88

Local Chapter Leader
Thanks.

Jason
jason@smooth-on.com

I've used the Smooth On resin for castings, but frankly they are a whole lot
more expensive than what we typically use here. (even the expensive stuff)
But I do use the MoldMax 30 for making molds.

RAdams

Banned
WELCOME TO IAP!

Post up some pics of your pens! Ask questions! Or better yet, answer them! (Thanks for sharing your knowledge with us!)

As for your question... I have never tried any of your products, sorry. In fact, I was unaware of your company until this thread.

Thanks.

Jason
jason@smooth-on.com

Hey Jason, welcome aboard! I may have talked to you at one point or the other in the last few years. I used Oomoo for my first dedicated blank molds, and knob molds. If you look in my photo file you will see them. The new molds (not pictured) are made with Mold Max40.