I need help with casting carbon fiber

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

PSU1980

This is my first attempt at casting. I slid the carbon fiber sleeve over the tube and dripped Stickfast CA on the carbon fiber. Let the tube dry for two days and then I casted it.

Below are pictures of my mold how a caste tube came out and the one I turned.

I used Aluminite Water Clear, pressurized the castings for 2 hours at 40psi. Removed the mold and took inside for the night.

Came home from work, took the blanks out of the mold and then turned the one blank. I didn't notice the area that appears that the resin didn't adhere to the carbon fiber.

The resin cured for around 21 hours before I turned it.

Any help as to what I did wrong would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Tim

Attachments

• DSC01126.jpg
    DSC01126.jpg
    180.6 KB · Views: 234
  • DSC01127.jpg
    DSC01127.jpg
    112.3 KB · Views: 244
  • DSC01128.jpg
    DSC01128.jpg
    106 KB · Views: 262
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Kenny Durrant

Tim I've only used Alumilite a few times so I'm limited on the tips I can give. I agree that it's separation so I would guess the resin wasn't mixed or weighed precisely or trapped air was the cause. Rather than me guess I'll tell you what I do and maybe you can pick up a few ideas to add to your method. First I paint the tube black then I use Epoxy Glue to glue the fiber to the tube. This is the messy part for me because I literally put an excessive amount of glue on the tube. I like to see the glue ooze through the fiber when I stretch it to tighten it on the tube. I take the excess that oozes out and smear it all over to help seal any voids in the fiber. I let set for a couple of days then cast. I hope this helps.

JohnU

I've cast lots of carbon fiber but only with polyresin and never alumilite. I get very little failures with Polyresin Silmar 41.

jttheclockman