I need clear advice on blank making...

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

merrym

Total newbie, have not made anything YET...wanting to buy what I need...nothing more! I want to stabilize my wood and vacuum it. SOME I want to pour into blanks and add colored resin, maybe 2 or 3 colors in a mold. I see different methods at this point...can I just mold then let it cure on a table? Or do I mold, then put back in the vacuum tank? and I have seen ones talking about a pressure tank...what is the reason for that? I just dont want to invest in tons of equipment, because I am only ever going to be doing small amounts...and I DO have other hobbies that take resources too!

:confused::confused::confused::confused:

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

The Penguin

if all you're "ever" going to do is small amounts and don't want to invest in a bunch of equipment - you might not want to get started in casting and stabilzing.

you might be better off having someone stabilize want you need done, and buy pre-cast blanks. I've had Jonathon Brooks cast a few blanks for me and his prices are very reasonable

merrym

I enjoy DOING things, so will invest in this hobby, just not wanting to go whole hog into it...NO ambitions or desire to do a lot of turning...I do cast other things already, and if I can use the same product for the other hobbies that would save me having lots of stock...the pressure tank idea confuses me a little, do I REALLY need one or can the vacuum tank do it all well enough???

Mike Powell

From the reading I have done, you dont NEED a pressure tank, you just have to be more careful when mixing. I am ordering my stuff to start casting, and Im not going to use a pressure pot.

Last edited:

RBcarving

I say to start with the stabilizing...it has a little less of a learning curve (and less initial "waste" of money) than going into the casting...which can get very expensive while working out techniques.