Home made mini stabilization set up

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

RODNEYBREAN

My version, a hand held food vac pump from W-mart,($22) pickle jar, Minwax wood hardner. Kept the pump on til the bubbles stopped. Flipped the blanks, vaccumed again. Now letting them dry. Started with 24 oz of hardner, when done had 17 oz left. used 4 blanks. Didn't weigh blanks before or after (should have) If nothing else , sped up the time for the product to soak in.

Attachments

• PENS 028.jpg
    PENS 028.jpg
    41.5 KB · Views: 2,649
  • PENS 034.jpg
    PENS 034.jpg
    52.4 KB · Views: 1,308
  • PENS 036.jpg
    PENS 036.jpg
    51.3 KB · Views: 2,456
  • PENS 038.jpg
    PENS 038.jpg
    51 KB · Views: 919
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

RODNEYBREAN

I am very new to this, I had read many post of turners using Minwax wood hardener to stabilize soft or rotten blanks. If I misused the term then I apologize. Again, I am new to this and thought I would share my idea.

pianomanpj

Well I'm not one to argue semantics, but if your process yielded stabilized blanks, than the wood hardener was used as a stabilizer. In my mind, call it what you will. No harm, no foul. :)

Picking of nits aside, great job on thinking outside the box! Being able to perform this process on a budget will surely get some attention! Please keep us informed on your journey through this process, and PLEASE post pics of the pens that you create from it. WELL DONE! :biggrin:

crabcreekind

I have heard of people using wood hardeners or other store bought hardeners for stabilizing, but they said the problem was that the liquid never hardened.

Justturnin

Yep, looks like my first. I used a gallon pickle jar. I never used wood hardener though. I have seen lots that have. Like said, if the blank is solid and stable then it is a win. I know folks use white glue watered down, Plexi and Acetone, Styrofoam and Acetone all with successful results. Nice work.

one question though. Wheres the Pen?????