Help with Ganddaughter Pen

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jimmyz

My 10 year old Granddaughter was here for Christmas and brought 8 people of various ages with her. The decibel level in the house has sadly decreased today.

Anyway, she and I were looking at some of the things I make, and she told me about a pen she saw at a craft show in Northern Virginia. From her description, I've concluded it was a single barrel twist pen, with a mixed blue and green ceramic barrel.

I confess that I am not very good at mixing colors of resin and have not been very happy with the results. I don't want anyone to give away any secrets, but what is the best way to get a nice pattern with two colors? What type of mold should I use (horizontal or vertical)? Do I let the resin set up a little so the colors are easier to mix and don't simply produce a third color? What tool works best to mix them? Any other suggestions? I am using PR without a pressure pot.

I appreciate any help you can provide, and I'm sure my Granddaughter will enjoy the pen!

Brian G

I don't have the years of experience that some of the master casters have, but maybe these thoughts will help.

I use vertical molds of PVC pipe. That's just a preference, because I seem to have better success with avoiding the colors blending together.

Take notes, like the number of drops (or scoops, or stirstick tip ends) of the coloring you use, the number of drops of catalyst, and the time you added the catalyst and the time you poured.

I mix the coloring into the PR and mix it thoroughly before adding the catalyst. That way, I can make color corrections without having to worry about it setting up before I get it just right.