Cracks in Lexan covers

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Thud 54963

I have been stabilizing numerous batches of blanks for about the last 6 months. Initially I was using a converted 5 inch wide by 7 inch tall pot for a vacuum pot. As my need for more capacity grew I moved to a 11 inch wide to 12 inch tall pot. On both of these setups I installed a vacuum gauge in the center and valve assembly about 2 inches from the center of a piece of ½ inch thick Lexan plastic. A piece of 1/8 inch thick butyl rubber served as a gasket.

My process is to heat the wood for stabilizing for 36 hours in a toaster oven at 225 degrees, then cool the wood to room temp. The wood is then placed in CJ stabilizer and vacuum drawn to 27 in/Hg for another 36 hours or until bubbles are no longer visible. I then release the vacuum and allow the wood to soak for 24 hours. Finally I heat the wood to 225 for a couple of hours until dry.

The smaller pot worked flawlessly. But since I have moved up to the larger setup I have had nothing but problems with the Lexan cover. Two covers have developed spider like fractures in the plastic emanating where the hardware exits the top. The first cover this happened on the 2nd run. The second cover fractured on the first run. I didn't mention that the hardware is cushioned with butyl rubber gaskets on top and bottom.

I'm sure the fractures are caused by bowing of the Lexan toward the vacuum. I am guessing that I shouldn't use the fractured covers. Any suggestions anyone has to eliminate this problem would be most helpful. Thanks in advance.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dhop1218

The short answer here would be to use a thicker lid. How much thicker is a little trickier, and probably mostly guesswork.
when you increased the diameter to 11inches the area that the vacuum was acting upon increased a lot. This means that the amount of force acting upon the lid has increased also, even though the pressure reading is the same.