Consolidated Reference list

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

navyjoe

Hello all.

I am fairly new to the site, and I have been turning for about 18 months now. Because of this site I have ventured into creating my own blanks. Made my first PR blank with Jacquard Pearl Ex powders. It has been a blast so far and I look forward to turning it and making more.

My concern is that there is no simple reference page for new people like me to dive deeper into making blanks. Yes, there are a hundred or so pages dedicated here, plus many youtube videos, but at least for me this is so much information it really isn't information anymore. In trying to find different and better pigments I spent an hour looking at makeup sites trying to figure out how to purchase Mica Powder from costal scents. So I now know a ton about eye shadow, but still no idea what to buy concerning dyeing blanks.

So I have what I hope is a simple request. Somewhere in the blank making thread can there be a 'start here' post where new people like me can go to learn about the casting process (material options and recommended places to purchase).

For example, I purchased the Casting Craft from Michaels. It was the easiest for me to get started with and I was able to use the 40% coupon with it. This is a great entry level option and I am having fun with it. However, the obvious draw back for me is A) the smell, and B) it doesn't like humidity (and being a Florida resident, there are no low humidity days). So I came here to research other options and just became overwhelmed. Alumilite, Silmar 41, what you can or cannot color them with, additional materials (pressure pot) and on and on. Easily 150 pages of threads to sift thru to try and find something useful and applicable to what I was looking for.

I am sure this isn't a simple request and I would love to contribute where I can. However I am just the new guy and do not have the experience to really add to the conversation other than asking questions.