casting versus stabilizing

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Grenger

I am new to this. What different equipment do i need to cast sylicone mold and also to stabilize wood

for casting sylicone mold I need a pot and a air compressor?
for stabilizing I need a pot and a air pump.
:rolleyes:

Is this right?

can i use the same pot for both casting and stablilizing.

i am thinking of buying this and modifying it
10 Litre Paint Tank | Princess Auto

will that work.

thanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

HamTurns

Equipment needed;
Casting = Pressure pot and a compressor.
Stabilizing = Vacuum chamber you can see through and a vacuum pump.

For casting Alumilite blanks I use a pressure pot. For that I took a used paint pot and modified it to hold pressure. I use 60psi for casting blanks. So you need a pressure pot and a compressor. I use silicon molds for some of my blanks.

For stabilizing with Cactus Juice I use a vacuum chamber that I can see through. It's important to be able to see what's going on when your stabilizing. I use the type of vacuum pump that can draw the vacuum chamber down to absolute minimum for my altitude. About 29 in. -Hg, which is important in order to get as much of the air out of your blanks as possible.

I hope this helps.

Happy tuning - Tom

Grenger

Equipment needed;

For casting Alumilite blanks I use a pressure pot. For that I took a used paint pot and modified it to hold pressure. I use 60psi for casting blanks. So you need a pressure pot and a compressor. I use silicon molds for some of my blanks.

For stabilizing with Cactus Juice I use a vacuum chamber that I can see through. It's important to be able to see what's going on when your stabilizing. I use the type of vacuum pump that can draw the vacuum chamber down to absolute minimum for my altitude. About 29 in. -Hg, which is important in order to get as much of the air out of your blanks as possible.

I hope this helps.

Happy tuning - Tom

thank you for the clarification...