sprayer help

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JohnU

I don't turn bowls but I have used lacquer on many projects over the years. About 15 to 18 years ago I bought a High-Volume Low-Pressure spray system. It was great with pre catalyzed lacquer spraying trim and furniture wood workings. Lacquer will dry very fast and adhere to itself very well with in a time limit making it easy and quick to layer several thin coats. I spent about $400 on that system and later met a guy who ran a traditional archery business making recurve and long bows. I was amazed how well his finish looked on his products and how well they held up in the weather. I've been shooting one of his bows for the past 12 years and it still looks great. His secret... spray cans of deft lacquer from the hardware store shelf.

Last edited:

rherrell

I second the Deft spray cans. I have an HVLP gun that I use for big projects but if I can carry it with one hand it gets the Deft rattle can treatment. The only problem is my local Lowes stopped carrying it, does anyone know if ALL the Lowes stopped?

bobleibo

I am also one who HAD a fancy spray gun with all the goodies. By the time I got it set up and then cleaned up, it was a pain in the rear. I have used the Valspar Spray Lacquer from Lowes for quite some time and am very happy with it. It dries quickly so multiple coats in a short time are possible. It's also easy to wet sand after it cures and get a very high gloss finish. Have not tried it on pens but use it a lot on my bowls and flat work. One thing is that if you spray it in colder weather, bring it in the house or somewhere warm to dry or it will remain tacky and never cure properly. I keep the cans somewhere warm for storage. Have not used the Deft but I am sure it works just as well.
Simplicity with results.....