Sharpening a parting tool without a grinder

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

brailsmt

I am new to woodturning. I am between houses, ATM, living in an apartment for the next 6-7 months. I have carbide tools since I don't have a bench grinder, nor room for one. I have a credit card diamond file and paddle diamond files to sharpen/extend the life of my carbide tips. I do not have a parting tool. I have been reluctant to buy one since I can't sharpen traditional chisels easily. I have searched for guides on sharpening parting tools by hand, but have found bupkis. I feel I'm lacking a parting tool, any tips for how to sharpen those with just a credit card and paddle diamond files?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

stonepecker

Maybe not sharpen the tool, but how about a Dremel tool with one of those barrel sanding jigs? It might be enough to extend the use of the parting tool till you get a grinder.

Wagner11

Parting tools are nice, but often not necessary especially if you are only turning pens. I use a Dremel to sharpen my gouge all the time for lack of a grinder. I have no doubt it's ruined but it works fine for me. I don't know that I've ever sharpened my parting tool.

Sent from my SM-S727VL using Tapatalk

brailsmt

I hope to do more than pens, but your point is well taken. Perhaps I should tailor my projects to what tools I readily have available. I'm sure I can manage the Xmas peppermills without a parting tool.

Last edited:

jttheclockman