Recommendations for non-digital vernier caliper

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Fish30114

So I have been searching for a good quality non-digital vernier caliper-6 inch, I have not had any luck finding a decent one in my price tolerance of say $30-$45...the cheapest Mitutoyo I found was $76 and only metric--oh yeah I want imperial--inch--measurements on it....hate the fake wheel model ones I want a real thumbwheel on it.

All input is welcome!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dusty

I have a stainless steel one from Harbor Freight that I have been using for four or five years and I am very happy with it. Haven't encountered any problems at all.

Ed McDonnell

You could look at this one. Although it is a little less than you want to pay, shipping will get you in the zone.

https://littlemachineshop.com/products/product_view.php?ProductID=3704&category=

You could call them and talk to them about it. See if it will meet your needs.

Honestly, low price and good quality don't generally go together in measuring devices. You can maybe hope for just good enough quality at your price point. But we're talking about pens , not orbital space capsules. It's not that demanding of an application.

Ed

Ed McDonnell

You never can't use it because you don't have a spare battery.

In some applications the dial is a whole lot easier to see than a digital display.

A really high quality dial caliper is like a fine watch. Will a rolex tell time better than a quartz timex? No, but it can probably survive a much harsher environment and abuse and keep working. Precision gears can take a lot more abuse than cheap linear encoders in digital calipers.

Ed

You've roused my curiosity is there an advantage to non-digital calipers other than the aesthetic?

Last edited:

Woodchipper

One thing would be consistency in measuring. Any caliper is useless if that is an issue. I got mine from Cabela's. I use it for turning and reloading.

Ed McDonnell