Niche for pen blank cutting tool

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jbg230

Although I'm new at this craft, it seems to me that there's a niche for a tool that would sit on a bench top, be less than $100 and would cut pen blanks fast, safe, simply, cleanly, and straight. A tool that would avoid the need to have to make jigs, use special clamps/vises, and avoid the need for extra parts like chucks and mandrels.

I guess that even if there was a perfect tool, there would always be variations as to how to get the job done, but I think it's because there is not a great tool, that we see so many turners using different tools, different methods, and different jigs to cut blanks. I'm surprised that one of the Chinese tool companies have not come up with a bench tool that would cut wood with depths of 1 or 2" (not 0.99" or 0.5") that would be marketed to modelers and pen turners.

I guess I wouldn't be thinking this way if I had my table saw always out and available. It's one of the small ones, made to be used at different job sites. It gets stored on a shelf below my work bench. So it would be a pleasure to go from my drill press to a small cut off/chop saw on my work table to the lathe (which sits on my work bench). Currently, I'm using a miter saw and despite all the toggle clamp things I've used to make it work well, I'm not happy with it.
The frustration as I see it is this:
The Proxxon mini saws are either very expensive or do not cut the 1" required depth. Maybe the scroll saw would be worth considering. I've read the chop saw (37160 KGS 80) will cut at least a 1" depth, but the saw is approx. $250
The True Power miter saw looked promising but 29% of the reviews were 1 & 2 stars. Maybe sufficient for pen blank needs however.
Those 2" saws that are around would be perfect, but they don't cut the required depth in one cut. This is a shame since the cut is clean and straight and would cut tubes as well.