Need advice on dust mask protection

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Strawboss

Yep, I'm a newbie. I have my equipment and just about ready to start but could use advice on a dust mask. I can find plenty of disposable masks as well as reusable equipment. Must of the details on the containers are sketchy. So, I would like to hear from the experts! would do you recommend? What micron filtration do I need? Brand names and specs would be helpful.

Like most I don't want to breathe the dust and some may be toxic. I noticed a lot of people in videos don't wear mask....partly because they're making a video.

I have a Jet filtration system on the ceiling and a Jet dust collection system w/ a one micron filter.

Your help would be appreciated

Strawboss (Bill)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jttheclockman

Strawboss, wow I haven't heard that term in 30 years when I worked in NY for 6 years. I was a traveler working out of town in a sister local #3 They used to call the Foreman on the job Strawbosses.

As far as dust masks go a lot depends on the work you are doing and if you have allergies to materials used in the shop and weather you have a beard and things. But you got a few good answers above this. Good luck. Oh by the way a dust mask is only good if you remember to wear it and wear it even if you are done doing the task. Dust remains in the air a long time. You have the right tools to help in combating it to start with.

Strawboss

Thanks for the help, asking people who actually use the equipment is far better than someone in a store

ChrisN

+1 on Tony's suggestion. That's what I use, and I like it. Now, if you have lots of money, go with the Trend.

PapaTim

I use a half mask like Tony but mine is by 3M. Covers my mouth and nose, fits under my face shield and is not uncomfortable. You can use replaceable dust or chemical filters with it.

jcm71

Here's a video that shows one way to adapt a smart charger to replace the one that comes with the Trend Airshield.