Jet 1220 plunge

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

RMayoIII

I've been turning for a while now using what I strongly believe is an over kill lathe for pen turning and decided to look into a smaller lathe. I've read a lot about the different lathes talked about on here and just ordered a jet 1220 without the vs option. I know I probably should have gotten the vs, but I'm not convinced that changing the belt will be that bad. In the event that I want vs, can anyone recommend a good add-on? This next question might seem a little beginner-ish but hey, I'm no pro! What do you use a lathe for in reverse? I just can't think of anything, someone must know and be able to convince my wife that I must get one with it!:biggrin:

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mrcook4570

What do you use a lathe for in reverse? I just can't think of anything, someone must know and be able to convince my wife that I must get one with it!:biggrin:

Congrats on the new lathe. I sometimes use reverse when sanding bowls, particularly natural edge, square or odd shaped bowls. This way, the leading edge is different when I switch directions.

Why do you need one? The same reason your wife needs THIS pair of shoes or THAT purse :eek:

Just make sure you have a comfortable couch before you try that excuse :wink:

RMayoIII

What do you use a lathe for in reverse? I just can't think of anything, someone must know and be able to convince my wife that I must get one with it!:biggrin:

Why do you need one? The same reason your wife needs THIS pair of shoes or THAT purse :eek:

Just make sure you have a comfortable couch before you try that excuse :wink:

Funny you mention it, we were couch shopping this weekend also!

SteveG