I'm New... what would you buy?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Hayseedboy

Hello All,

Newbie here. Need some advice. Been looking at the Jet Mini VS and have had a look at the Rikon and have heard about the Grizzly. What are your suggestions?

I'm like everyone else my wallet is not a large as my wants :) As I am just starting out the only thing I have for fine woodworking is a Delta mitre saw. Love it but, need to know what other things you think I have to have to start. Drill press, grinder, ban saw etc. What are my must haves?

Thanks in Advance,
Larry

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

txbatons

Hey there, Larry. Welcome aboard. As for equipment, you only need enough to fill your garage. Then get a bigger garage. That's how most of us end up!

I can't help you with the ins/outs of mini-lathes. I use an old Carba-Tec mini for all of my work and a table saw for cutting blanks and a grinder to keep the tools sharp. I'd like to add a band saw, but I haven't figured out a way to sneak it into the house under my shirt so the wife doesn't see!

R2

G'day Larry. The Jet Mini is a good little lathe, Especially the new model. You might be lucky enough to pick up the superceded model on special. There is no real need for VS but it is handy if you are turning other than pens. Another tack is a second hand lathe. a few gouges and some sharpening gear and tou're under way. Best oluck from the land of Oz.[:D][:D][:D]

Dario

I bought Jet mini VS...and won't change anything even if I can go back.

I think Jet would be the lathe most owned by IAP members, for a good reason.

GBusardo