I'm new to all of this help needed

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
So I have gotten into knife making. And found that I have wood left over that fits the bill for pen blanks and though I might give it a try.
I built a bootleg power drill wood jig setup as a lathe.
It seems to turn a small block of wood well but my chisel is not super sharp and it does not work so well.
I would like to see about what's the best single chisel to start with for turning pens, also is there a way to make a pen mandrel for about the cost of ordering one?
Thanks in advance for any help.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

D.Oliver

You're probably going to get several answers on this but if it were me I would start with a spindle gouge or a carbide tool. When I first started making pens I mostly used the spindle gouge. Now I use the skew as much as the spindle gouge but it takes a little bit more practice to learn the skew than it does to learn the gouge. Carbide cutters would be another choice, though they are much more expensive. However if you don't have a way of sharpening you tools (i.e. a grinder) then they might be the way to go. A pen madrel is nothing but a 1/4 rod. However it needs to be perfectly straight or you will get out of round pens.

How would I secure pen blanks to it i guess is kind of the question?
I can find a cheap piece of 1/4 inch rod thats straight and anything that's just over that size could be bushings to keep the blanks apart. Just not sure without being able to form threads on it how to secure it all together.

chartle

How would I secure pen blanks to it i guess is kind of the question?
I can find a cheap piece of 1/4 inch rod thats straight and anything that's just over that size could be bushings to keep the blanks apart. Just not sure without being able to form threads on it how to secure it all together.