How I square my blanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

MiteyF

Blank squaring seems to be an issue for some, and certainly was for me when I got started turning pens. Since I've been using this system, I haven't had any problems.

This is not my idea, but stolen from somewhere on the inter-webs. I take no credit for this method!

All you need is a chuck for the headstock, a drill chuck for the tailstock, and a set of transfer punches. Stuff I reckon almost all of us have.

Cut blank to length, drill, glue tube, and then

u4eMHsb.jpg

I have a few different sanding discs of varying size and grit, but usually for pens I use a 2" dowel of hard maple that I have a tenon turned on one side, with a piece of 100 grit stuck on with a few dots of CA. When your sandpaper needs replacing, tear it off and put up a new piece. Every 10 pieces or so, I'll face the disk with a bowl gouge and sandpaper, checking for flatness with a straightedge.

I'm still fairly new to this, and maybe everyone knows this, but maybe it can help someone having difficulty.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dehn0045

I haven't tried this specific method, but having tried other similar methods with sandpaper I think that an offset jig is essential. The method that I settled on for squaring is to turn round between centers, then mount in a collet chuck and square off with the point of a skew. Most important part is finding a method that works for you. Well done, and that's one nice looking blank you're working on there!

jttheclockman