Home made Table Saw for Pen Making

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

leehljp

Member Liaison
I was asked to post a picture (by Avbill here) of my home made table saw made with a circular saw.

I am less than 48 hours away from a trip to the States, so if there are questions, - there may be a delay in answering, but I will answer. If questions are technical concerning measurements or for more detail pictures, I won't be able to post them for a month. I am not a designer or a CAD program user. I don't even draw things out on paper but visualize them in my mind with basic measurements noted in memory - which is beginning to wane a tad.

THE CIRCULAR TABLE SAW AND SLED:
Below are pictures of a table top table saw that I made for working with pen blanks. It is larger than I originally intended by being 22"L X 18"W on the sled and 19 1/2"L by 16"W for the table base. This is the second hobby tablesaw that I made.

The first one still works but is small with the sled being 10 1/2"W and 14" L. Just a bit too small for trimming large pieces down to good blank size.

SAFETY:
I DO NEED HELP in designing a series of hold down jigs. Nothing I come up with works consistently without warping the sled. So far, I am so scared of it that I do a couple of dry runs and make up a custom hold down or push type of stick for most cuts. I keep my hands away. I just don't like the blade whirling so close to my hand or fingers but can't visualize a blade cover that will work with the sled without hindering its basic operation.

THE TABLE SAW BASE:
The Table has a 1/4 inch aluminum base on which the 7" Makita saw was mounted. The aluminum base is 12" square. I routed the wood 3/4" base plywood to accept the Aluminum. With the Base sides, I had to cutout a section to allow for the end of the saw to fit. I knew that I would have to do that because of the saw's physical size.

The blade is a 1.3mm kerf carbide tipped blade. I do have a 1mm 5" blade in case I want smaller kerfs.