Hodge Podge collection of home made tools

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.
photo43.jpg

These tools ain't pretty and I am not an expert at making tools, but hey, they work.

All the tools use copper piping for ferrels (sp). Expoy was used to hold the blades in place and they are 2"-3" deep into the handles. The round stock was purchased at a local big box store. The HSS bits where purchased at Enco. The scraper bits on tools 4 & 5 can be purchased at CSUSA.

L to R
1&2) These are the first two tools I made. They are parting tools using sawzall blades and 1" wooden dowels I had in the shop. The longer blade is 1/16" thick and the shorter blade is 1/32" thick. They cut with the long tip down. They work really well.

3) This tool uses a 1/4" square stock with a 3/16" HSS bit welded on at about a 45 degree angle. This has a dimpled walnut handle.This is used for small hollow forms to remove wood under the lip.

4) This tool uses a 1/2" round stock with the end ground at about a 15 degree angle and tapped to hold a store bought tip.The handle is really to light for this tool, I'm waiting for some hickory to dry so I can remake this handle.

5) This tool uses a 5/16" round stock. The end is ground down at about 15 dregees and tapped to hold a store bought tip. The bar is to light and only works with a small hollow forms. I plan on making another with some thicker bar stock. The handle is from my Kelton Coring System.

6) This tool is my favorite skew made from 1/4" drill rod and set into a bubinga handle.

7) This tool is made from 3/8" drill rod. I figured since I love the 1/4" skew I would love a slightly bigger one all the more. Wrong! One day I'm going to regrind this into a three point tool.

8&9) This two are from Don Pencil

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Dario

NICE!!! I like them [:)]