Help on new lathe decision

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

allmaclean

Finally ready to replace my old HF lathe for something new. Have got it narrowed down to the Jet JWL 1221VS, the Delta 46-460, and the Rikon 70-220VSR.
I am doing mainly pens and some bowls at present.

I like Rikon because of their customer service, which I experienced personally with one of their bandsaws. I had heard that Jet and particularly Delta had pretty poor support.

Looking for feedback from the experts out there on which one would best meet my needs.

Thanks,

Allan

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Rolandranch

I'm not an expert but I've had a really good experience with Jet tools. I have three of their lathes and have never had any problems with them. One is around 20 years old and still runs like a top. That said, I've never used a Delta or Rikon so only take my two cents for what they're worth.

BillyBoy63

Lathe Decision

I bought the Delta 46-460 no problems as of yet the centers were pin point accurate the belt is super easy to make adjustments or replace with the belt adjustment handle that clicks down and stays in place you have two hands to work with on and off switch / forward & reverse and speed controls in a great spot to do it all over again I would buy the delta at the drop of hat my opinion simply love it
BillyBoy63

MTViper

When I was shopping for a lathe, I read reviews and forums like this and I saw one consistent theme "I bought XYZ lathe and 6 months later I wanted something bigger". I went with a Jet 1642 EVS and have never looked back. I have only had one time I had to contact customer service and it was great. I needed to replace the on/off switch. They sent me a new one and instructions on how to install it. It arrived in 2 days and I was back in business in 20 minutes (I'm slow with electrical work). I heartily recommend Jet tools.

Charlie_W