Good Deal for Rikon Lathe for Beginner

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Mengtian

I am thinking about getting into turning, mostly pens, pepper shakers, small bowls. But am going to start with pens. I am an experienced woodworker and do about 50 percent of my work with traditional hand tools and joinery. I am also self-taught (and You Tube taught:)).

So far I have been able to research things and buy the appropriate stuff for what I need. I confess I am a little behind on the learning curve when it comes to lathes and turning.

I have been thinking about getting a Grizzly mini-lathe or a Jet or the Rikon. I saw this at Woodcraft and thought it might be a good deal since it should have everything to start turning pens. I am not concerned about blanks. I have tons of scraps from Maple to Wenge to Zebrawood.

Should I go for it and get this set up or just get a Grizzly and start purchasing the accesories needed?

Buy Rikon 6-Speed Mini Lathe Complete Slimline Starter Set at Woodcraft.com

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mecompco

Well, FWIW, the next time I buy a wood lathe, it will be variable speed. I'm using the cheapie HF 10x18 and it seems to work well. However, I set the speed to max and have never touched it (nor intend to)--too much of a PITA to loosen the motor, remove panels, change pulleys, put things back together and repeat as necessary. Luckily, I have a 12x36 metal lathe that is easy to change speeds on (from ~2,000 to ~40 RPMs).

Max speed on the wood lathe is great for turning and polishing, not so much for drilling, sanding and finishing (so I do these processes on the metal lathe).

I think you'd be better off getting a variable speed lathe, even if it's not a package deal.

Regards,
Michael

PS: The Rikon looks EXACTLY like my HF with a different paint job (and an extra $400 on the price tag).

Last edited:

stonepecker

I believe if you shopped around, you could save a little money by buying things seperate.