Easy Wood Tool Sizes

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

WoodKnot

I'm new to turning and just getting started. I took a pen turning class and they used Easy Wood tools, the tools have a good rep here and I've decided to get a set of Easy Wood turning tools. They come in three sizes. I think I used the medium sized tools at the class.

I'm wondering if anyone has compared the mini and midi tools? I think the short tools are designed for pen turning, does anyone have experience with them?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

walshjp17

I use all three sizes but stick to the minis for pen turning. CS USA offers an exclusive EWT for penturning which is essentially the mini rougher with a C12 R2 (radius) cutter instead of the square cutter.

I turn 90% of my pens with the R2, a small spindle-master and/or a skew.

Edgar

New Member Advocate
Staff member
I have 2 of the EWT Easy Start tools - one with an R2 cutter & one with a round cutter. I pretty much only use the R2 on pens & really like it. I use both for bottle stoppers.
I think they are the ideal size for pens & other small things, but I haven't tried anything larger than a bottle stopper yet.

I also have a no-brand full size (1/2" shaft) tool with a triangle-shaped cutter that I picked up on ebay pretty cheap. It works great and I sometimes use it on bottle stoppers, but it's almost too big for small projects IMHO.

kovalcik

Personally, I am not a fan of EWT. In my opinion, they cost too much for what they are, which is basically a soft metal bar with a cutter screwed on. You can make your own version with a $5 piece of steel and about 15 minutes on a grinder and 5 more minutes to drill and tap a screw hole. You will need to turn a handle, but you already have a lathe, right? There are also many people selling their own versions for a a lot less than EWT.