CAN THIS BE DONE?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

emtmike

I am very new to this pen turning and have a question about my lathe I can change the speed by moving to belt. What would happen if I put an inline dimmer switch on the electrical cord. I could slow it down and speed it up like that. Would that hurt the lathe.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JimGo

Mike, search the archives and you'll see that the motor you (probably) have on your lathe won't tolerate the change in voltage particularly well. It might work for a few minutes, but that's about it.
Edit: http://www.penturners.org/forum/topic.asp?ARCHIVE=true&TOPIC_ID=6324&SearchTerms=dimmer

Randy_

Originally posted by KenV<br />If you really want to do that, get a DC motor and a speed controller -- lots more bucks but nice.

Agreed.....Best solution; but expensive. Sell the manual model and by a VS unit. Considering the loss you would incur from the sale of your current lathe and the extra you would pay for a VS model, the conversion might be economically feasible. I'm sure someone will come along with cost of converting a lathe. One very nice feature of converted lathes is the will run from 0 rpms to max. The store bought VS units usually has a low speed of around 500 RPMs and that is a little high for boring, sanding and finishing.

P.S. What kind of lathe do you have? Some are easier than others to convert.

TomServo

I converted my taig lathe to VS - got a 2.25HP treadmill motor from www.surpluscenter.com - $10 + $10 shipping - and i bought a pair of KB Electronics DC speed controllers for $50 shipped off ebay - I've got an extra motor and controller I don't know what I want to do with yet.

here's one rated to 1/2 HP without a heatsink: http://cgi.ebay.com/KBIC-PENTA-KB-POWER-DC-MOTOR-SPEED-CONTROL-KBIC-120-NEW_W0QQitemZ7585267787QQcategoryZ97187QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem