Brand New Nova Comet II Tripping GFCI - International Association of Penturners
     International Association of Penturners
Pens for Service Members
 
Support The IAP

Go Back   International Association of Penturners > Community Forums > Shops, Jigs, Fixtures & Tools
  Forgot Password
Register FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Shops, Jigs, Fixtures & Tools Show off and discuss your workshop and everything in it.


Logged on members can hide ads!

Welcome to penturners.org!

You've found the home of The International Association of Penturners. You are currently viewing our site as a guest, which gives you limited access to view discussions, photos, and library articles.

Consider joining our community today. You'll have full access to all of our content, be able to enter our contests, find local chapters near you, and post your questions and share your experience with our members all over the world.

Membership is completely free!!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-28-2019, 02:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Sachse, TX
Posts: 51
Photos: 0

Default Brand New Nova Comet II Tripping GFCI

I bought a brand new Nova Comet II midi lathe and have been trying to break in the motor, but the lathe is tripping the GFCI in the garage anytime I turn up the speed and even at low speed it trips after 2-3 minutes. I can run Festool tools, a mini bandsaw, refrigerators, sanders, shop vacs, and all other sorts of tools without tripping the GFCI. Is this an issue with the lathe or is it pulling so much more power I need to get stronger outlets installed?
indytruks138 is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 02-28-2019, 02:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 17
Photos: 1

Default

I've read several reports of the Comet II headstock getting very hot during break in. the build clearances are obviously very tight in this assembly!
This means friction and higher loads on the motor. Could be your's is too tight of assembly fits and is likely to get VERY hot during break in when you finally do get it going.
Lower speed actually means more AMP draw from the motor.

A lot of times, a number of additional outlets are ran in series from a GFCI downstream, providing protection without buying several GFCI outlets. If there are any other outlets going out when the GFCI trips, this is the case. Unplug everything else to reduce the amp load on the GFCI then try again.

Your GFCI outlet could be going bad as well.

Sincerely,
Paul Turley
pturley is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 02-28-2019, 03:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Sachse, TX
Posts: 51
Photos: 0

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pturley View Post
I've read several reports of the Comet II headstock getting very hot during break in. the build clearances are obviously very tight in this assembly!
This means friction and higher loads on the motor. Could be your's is too tight of assembly fits and is likely to get VERY hot during break in when you finally do get it going.
Lower speed actually means more AMP draw from the motor.

A lot of times, a number of additional outlets are ran in series from a GFCI downstream, providing protection without buying several GFCI outlets. If there are any other outlets going out when the GFCI trips, this is the case. Unplug everything else to reduce the amp load on the GFCI then try again.

Your GFCI outlet could be going bad as well.

Sincerely,
Paul Turley
Thank you for the response Paul, my house is a newly built home and it seems all outlets in the garage run to one actual GFCI outlet. Maybe I can take my lathe next door to my neighbor who has installed 20 amp GFCI in his garage to run the 45 minute break in, then hopefully the engine will be loose enough that it won't trip my outlets? Does that sound reasonable?
indytruks138 is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Advertisement
Old 02-28-2019, 03:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
Charlie_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sterling, VA USA
Posts: 5,001
Photos: 3

Default

A documented issue with some lathes is that the harmonics from the variable speed control will trip GFCI outlets/breakers. Have you tried plugging your lathe into a non GFCI receptacle/circuit? Just run a cord from a circuit in the house to the lathe and give it a try. (Make sure the circuit is not GFCI protected.)

There was an issue with some of the Delta Midi lathes some years ago doing this. Currently, a friend has a Jet 1640 which is 120V and tripped the required GFCI in his shop. He ran a cord from a ceiling receptacle for his filter and the lathe runs fine all day long.

One solution I have read is to purchase a “Hospital Grade” GFCI receptacle. You can find them online or at an electrical supply house. They may not be at the big box stores. Apparently, these tolerant the harmonics from the lathe speed controller.

If the lathe bearings were tight, the headstock casting around the bearings would get hot. It should easily run with no load right out of the box without tripping. Note it is the GFCI that is tripping...not your electrical panel breaker...so I don’t think it is a heavy load issue. Besides, the lathe doesn’t pull many amps.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Charlie W.
Charlie_W is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 02-28-2019, 03:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Sachse, TX
Posts: 51
Photos: 0

Default

Ok well both responses lead me to believe for now that I don't need to install a new outlet yet, but should try running it first without a GFCI plug (which will have to be from inside like suggested) and then maybe after break in I can try it back on the GFCI, and if that doesn't work I will try switching out the GFCI for a hospital grade GFCI. IF that doesn't work see if I can get a non-GFCI outlet. I just hate having this lathe and not being able to turn. Luckily I am a member of Dallas Makerspace so I can still turn there, just not the same as coming home from work and busting out a pen.
Thanks for the comments so far.
indytruks138 is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 02-28-2019, 04:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Bayou Vista, Texas
Posts: 95
Photos: 0

Default

If you are using an extension cord, you need a heavier duty cord. Like others said, too many things on 1 circuit. I had to map which outlets fed which GFCI! And then plan. Your grinder, planer, or band saw don't run at same time as lathe, but your dust collector and lights do. Good luck..
CaptainJane is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 02-28-2019, 09:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
Jolly Red's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Carterville, IL
Posts: 97
Photos: 4

Default

If the other plugs "downstream" from that GFCI are regular plugs, you could switch the next plug with the GFCI and not have to worry about it. Don't know if this is acceptable to your electric code, so be sure to check that out.
__________________
"If everything goes according to plan, it's a business plan, not an adventure" Bertrand Piccard
Now I realize that my shop time is high adventure.
Jolly Red is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 02-28-2019, 09:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Illinois
Posts: 112
Photos: 0

Default

I'm with Charlie on this one. Variable speed and GFCI don't always play nicely together. My variable speed lathe trips GFCIs. My stand mixer in the kitchen does as well.
cjester is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 02-28-2019, 10:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Sachse, TX
Posts: 51
Photos: 0

Default

Well I just ran the motor break in on an inside non-ggci outlet for an hour with no issue. Plug it back in to the gfci in the garage and it trips. So should I try the hospital grade gfci or hire an electrician to install a non-gfci outlet?
indytruks138 is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Old 02-28-2019, 11:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
Charlie_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sterling, VA USA
Posts: 5,001
Photos: 3

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by indytruks138 View Post
Well I just ran the motor break in on an inside non-ggci outlet for an hour with no issue. Plug it back in to the gfci in the garage and it trips. So should I try the hospital grade gfci or hire an electrician to install a non-gfci outlet?
The best answer to your question is....”It Dpends”.

If the GFCI receptacle in the garage was the existing one with the house, most likely there are other regular receptacles being protected downline. If this is the case, all the other receptacles need to be protected( bathroom, outside, etc and the GFCI would need to be placed at the very next receptacle in the circuit.

In our house, the garage, one basement receptacle( unfinished basement), all 3 bathrooms, and two outdoor receptacles were all controlled by one GFCI on a 15A Circuit. Hair dryers, curling irons and outdoor Christmas lights easily overloaded the circuit tripping the breaker some houses had the GFCI locates in either the garage or master bathroom depending on the location of the electrical panel and which route used less cable.

Perhaps a better option long term is to have the electrician run new a circuit/s to the garage leaving the existing one alone. Your new circuit/s could be 20A for heavier tools. Your choice in the hospital grade GFCI receptacle for a new circuit or having a dedicated non GFCI receptacle.
However, one should always have everything electrical done to code whenever possible. Your homeowners insurance probably would not want to pay out for a fire resulting from a non code modification.

All this said, since you are not doing your own electrical work, talk to your electrician. If in doubt, call your local electrical inspector.
Any new work will require a permit and inspection.
__________________
Charlie W.
Charlie_W is offline   Reply With Quote Top
Related Content
Logged on members can hide ads
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

Content Copyright © 2003-2019 by Penturners.org, LLC; All Rights Reserved
Terms Of Service   Acceptable Use Policy