Band Saw vs. Coping Saw

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

jimpenna

Hi,
I am relatively new to pen turning and have a question for advice. My garage is my shop and since I have limited space available, I am trying to decide between a 9" band saw or a 16" coping saw. I only have room left for one of these little gems, after the table saw and chop/mitre saw! It seems that I am leaning toward the coping saw since I am looking to produce segmented pen blanks and that a coping saw can be used as a band saw as well as make curved cuts in blanks fairly easily? Any tips or suggestions are welcome!

John:)

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Hi John,
Can you provide a link or description on the particular coping saw you're thinking of? When I hear coping saw, this comes to mind:
Coping Saw - Lee Valley Tools

A band saw is a versatile tool for many different types of cuts, and excels on curved cuts, but not necessarily needed for segmenting (depending on the type segmenting - e.g., would be needed for curved segmenting). Many folks use their miter saw or table saw to produce segmented work.

What type of segmentation are you considering?

leehljp

Member Liaison
Scroll saws are a little more difficult, unless very experienced, to make straight cuts that will make good segments. Some people will think a joint is "good enough" but experienced people will see gaps.

AS to band saws - there have been several discussions on small band saws lately. Most 9 & 10 inch band saws just do not do a good job of tracking and making straight cuts in 3/4 in hardwoods. There is one group of 10 inch BS that has a good reputation with hardwoods and that is the Rikon/Sears/???. Look up a 10 inch Rikon and then look at similarly shaped models from Sears or other.