Wood Turner's Finish

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

C Randall

Has anyone here used the Wood Turner's Finish by General Finishes? The guy at Woodcraft recommended it when I bought my first pen blank and kit. I like the way it looks on the pen, except that it bubbled and left a rough surface in spots. The blank is "Wenga" I think, or something like that, and it looks really good where the finish went on well. I just sanded the blank and then applied several coats of the finish with a paper towel. Should I have sanded between coats or used steel wool or something like that? If someone has had success with it, please let me know. I'm new to pen turning and to the forum, except that I posted on the "Introductions" page. Thanks in advance for your help.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

C Randall

Thanks, Ed, that's a great resource that I didn't know about. I've watched a few YouTube videos, but this site is very helpful.

sbwertz

We use it at Center for the Blind. We also use CA/BLO. But some have problems with the CA fumes, so for them we use the Wood Turners Finish. We also use it on peppermills.

TonyL

Ed's video is excellent. Send me your address and I will send you some. I barely use it, but that doesn't mean it is no good.

C Randall

Hi sbwertz. How do you apply it? Do you use Ed's method of applying it with a sponge or do you use some other applicator? Do you sand between coats? Do you have trouble with bubbles forming while you are applying it or while it is drying?

Thanks

RedBeard