Why BLO

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Emery

I'm still new at pen turning but have developed a pretty good method of applying a CA finish. I have seen others use BLO between coats of CA. What is the purpose of the BLO?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

NewLondon88

Local Chapter Leader
if you've got a good CA method down, then BLO is evil. It's useless.
It's for the paeons. Ignore it. Throw it in the trash. Look the other way.
You've got a good thing going.. so DON'T MESS WITH IT!!

But for others, it lubricates.. helps start kick the CA and also helps
the paper towel to not stick to the glue. It works for some, not
so well for others. Whatever works for you is the right way.

Last edited:

PenMan1

if you've got a good CA method down, then BLO is evil. It's useless.
It's for the paeons. Ignore it. Throw it in the trash. Look the other way.
You've got a good thing going.. so DON'T MESS WITH IT!!

But for others, it lubricates.. helps start kick the CA and also helps
the paper towel to not stick to the glue. It works for some, not
so well for others. Whatever works for you is the right way.

Throw it in your NEIGHBOR's trash. I nearly burned the shop down just cleaning up a BLO spill. Charlie is right! This stuff is evil.

its_virgil

I'm still new at pen turning but have developed a pretty good method of applying a CA finish. I have seen others use BLO between coats of CA. What is the purpose of the BLO?

Emery,

Your question has been asked several times over. Here is the answer given by a member of another forum.

The answer is from:
Dr. Henk J.M. Verhaar, Principal
ENVIRON Home - ENVIRON Global
Willem Arntszlaan
the Netherlands

Q: Does anyone understand how Boiled Linseed Oil and CA glue react to make such a nice finish?

A: Yes. The CA acts as a crosslinker for the BLO - you basically get an
accellerated linseed oil resin matrix with added durability and water
resistance.