What finish

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

ryannmphs

OK, I'm new to penturning (and fairly new to woodturning period) and I need to find out some options for finish on pens (and items like letter openers, key chains, etc.).

I know about CA, and I will prolly not use this as a finish. I don't know if I would ever develope a reaction to it like Chuck does, but I don't want to chance it :D.

I have heard of BLO, friction polish and a few others but I was wondering if a standard wood finish, like wipe on polyurathane (sp?) or stains can/will work for these items.

TIA
(Should be posting pics of my 1st 2 pens either tomorrow or friday :D)

Ryan

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

DCBluesman

Passed Away Mar 3, 2016
In Memoriam
I'll leave it to others to argue the merits of their favorite finish, but I will tell you that stain offers no finish. It merely places colored pigment between the cells. Polyurethane will definitely work as a final coat. Aniline dyes can actually penetrate the cell walls. It's a small difference, but as you grow in experience, you will learn to value the difference. Also, in reading the responses, make sure you understand that no one finish is best on all woods. Oily woods like cocobolo need a different finish than others.

C_Ludwigsen

Hey man, you are holding out on me! I want to see your pens!!!

Regarding the staining... I have not used stains because you know how I like each wood for its unique color. But I don't see any reason you couldn't stain the barrels. I would sand it through at least 320 or 400, then wipe on the stain evenly. Then wipe away any excess. Let it dry according to the directions. Also, a stain will raise the grain a bit, so you may have to follow that with more sanding.

I see no reason you couldn't use Poly, and plan to try it as well. I'm not sure how durable it will be, so we'll need the opinions of the group on that.