For those that only use "thin" CA

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

tdibiasio

I have been experimenting with different CA finishes and have found that in terms technique I have the most consistent results when I apply Thin CA. My question for the CA experts is if you were going to use thin CA only, then how many coats would you use. Of course I am looking for the protective qualities of CA so I want to apply enough without going overboard, I was thinking that 8-10 coats would be good?? What do you think.....

Any thoughts on this would be appreciated.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

marcruby

Well, I'm no expert, but I use thin CA. I lay a couple coats, sand it out, lay more coats, sand, etc. I run around 6 to 8 coats when I polish out the blanks. I don't like to get too heavy, because you can lose all touch with the wood and it starts to look like glossy plastic with grain painted on.

Marc

dennisg

I lay on three coats and sand with MM then three more sand with MM and then brass polish and renwax. I just placed an order for more thin CA, it just works better for me. dennis

I use 3 coats of BLO/Thin CA. After 24 hours I use EEE to polish.

I "assume" that this gives protection. The few pens that I have seen after some time look OK.

Larry

jkeithrussell

I'm new at both pen turning and using CA, but here's what I've learned so far. 2 or 3 coats of thin CA works well to lay the foundation, then 3 or 4 or 5 or 10 or whatever coats of medium CA work well to more quickly build up a thick coating that you can polish with MM. I've produced a grand total of 3 pens with respectable CA finishes, but how many coats you use will depend on the circumstances and your personal preferences.

ahoiberg