Tell me about CA and durability.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

soundman

I've been fiddling with pens and stuff for nearly 10 years now, appart from the lathe being silent for months at a time.

I use a couple of different finishes and I am happy with what I can do with CA.

I know thet many consider CA to be THE finish for top shelf pens.

What I am not happy about is what I don't know.

This is because we use a product for a purpose other than what it was designed for.

I am sure there people out there that where on the bleeding edge when CA finishing first took off that have some long term experience of the finish and perhaps have done some "scientific testing".

What I am concerned about is the long term viability of CA as a finish.

The artists of the past I am sure thaught some of their finishes and colours where pretty damn good, but, the Sisteen Chappel would look like rubbish it it was not restored, Jackson Pollock's Blue Poles has been falling appart since the Ausie government baught it in the 70's, and there are plenty of fancy violins that look like pieces of old tat and would have been tossed away if they did not have a famous name on them.

So dish me the truth on CA.
How does it stand up to UV?
Any problems with it , flaking, going milky or changing colour?
Does it cop moisture? I have not put a CA finished pen thru the wash to find out.
I expect it will chip like any other hard finish.

Whats the go.

cheers

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Texatdurango

Well, I can only speak back five years to mid 2007 but here are my answers based on half a dozen or so pens I made in 2007 with CA finishes that I still have lying around.....

......So dish me the truth on CA.
How does it stand up to UV? Whatever damage can be done from sunlight coming through a window would be the extent I could speak to but I've never noticed anything