Problems with Ebony Scratches

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
I am new to turning pens. I had a couple of ebony blanks from another project and attempted to turn one of them into the body of a fountain pen. I cannot seem to get the scratches out. I have run patiently through all of the grits up to 600, then finished by running through all of the grits of micro mesh and there are still rotational (cross grain) scratches. I have gone back through all of the steps three times, each time more patient than the last, finally using a few drops of water during the micromesh steps. The water seemed to help but the blanks still show fine scratches. Has anyone else had this problem or does anyone have any suggestions for me? Thanks. Don

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

SteveG

I suggest that you refrain from using water on unfinished wood, as a general practice.

The problem you describe is the result of failing to sand the blank lengthwise (lathe off), for EACH grit that you use. Try that, and probably your scratches will go away.

CREID

You should try stopping the lathe between sandpaper grits and sand lengthwise to reduce rotational scratches. You also might have started with too low a grit and put some real deep scratches in that you haven't gotten out or you might have contaminated your MM with something that keeps scratching the blank. Hope this helps.

Curt

Curt

KenV

The ebony I have turned is very dense wood. Scratches once in the surface are not trivial to remove. A fast process without taking time to inspect programs before proceeding results in experiences like yours. Breather and done that.

The inspection involves wiping down the pen section and inspecting carefully. A light across the surface helps show scratches.

All scratches of an even size before the next grit.

Take your time to get it good before proceeding to the next grit.

mmayo