Poly Finishes

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

RPM

I am a novice penturner (a total of 5 under my belt) and I have played with a few different approaches to finishes. One topic I have not seen discussed much here is the use of polyurathane. The only positive discussions seem to focus on Enduro products.

I have been into woodworking for more than 20 years with a focus on furniture just getting my first lathe a few months ago. For the past year or two I have been quite pleased with a gel poly product called Petri Gel Poly Finish for my furniture projects. I have tried it on two of my pens and am pleased with the results so far. I have applied it with a paper towel with the lathe off and then used a clean paper towel with the lathe running to buff out the finish. I then let the finish cure for a few hours and repeat for a total of 3 coats. Has anyone else tried this product or other gel poly products? Are there drawbacks that I have yet to encounter?
Richard

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Fred in NC

Richard, you will encounter a lot of different opinions, all based on valid personal experience. Even 'no finish' is considered a finish. Most pen turners aim for a very high gloss on their barrels. The other consideration is durability.

I have not tried gel poly myself. I use water based poly instead on most of my pens. So far I have very good results.

Do you get a high-gloss finish with the Petri gel? And, are you satisfied with the results?

RPM

Doug,
The Petri product can be buffed to a mirror finish. Given my vast experience with only 2 pens, I am working out the best method to achieve this. At this point I have acheived a "gloss" finish that has everyone that I have shown wanting one by using only a paper towel. I believe that with a buffing wheel or even some EEE after the urathane has cured (the wheel on my buffer is shot) the desired results can be obtained. I plan to pursue further once I get a new wheel.