Overturning and building up CA?

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

JasonM

Ive seen several threads mention purposefully turning a bit past the bushing in order to build back up with CA to get to the target diameter.

For those doing this, roughly how thick are you building up with the CA?

I ask because I'm still learning/experimenting with CA and don't know it I have a good grasp on how much of the diameter ends up being finish.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Justturnin

I turn about 0.10mm below the finished size and build back about 0.10mm above so i have about 0.2mm of ca. then i sand the excess off to get a glass finish with no ridges or dips. once done i will have a 0.10mm thick finish whoch means more to me than 20 coats without knowing what was removed during polishing.

GeorgeP

I turn about 0.10mm below the finished size and build back about 0.10mm above so i have about 0.2mm of ca. then i sand the excess off to get a glass finish with no ridges or dips. once done i will have a 0.10mm thick finish whoch means more to me than 20 coats without knowing what was removed during polishing.

Hi,

I'm very new to this and I am quite confused by the various types of CA. Are you using the thin or the thick type for finishing? Can someone highlight the types of use to the type of CA?

glen r

George, I usually start with thin CA to seal the blank and fill any small voids that may exist. I use medium CA after about 5 to 10 coats of thin and usually do about the same number of medium making sure that I dont get any ridges in the finish. I don't use thick for finishing. Once I am happy with what I see I let the blank sit for at least 24 hours before I start any sanding. I wet sand with MM to 12,000. Like others have stated, turn to a little less than the bushings and then build up the CA to the diameter that you need.