Need source for large jar for stabilizing blanks

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

Scottydont

OK folks. Now that I have been stabilizing my own blanks for a couple of months I am ready the expand beyond the size of a standard mason jar. Does anyone have a resource for 1/2 gallon or gallon size glass jars that could be used form stabilizing blanks?

Thanks in advance!

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
G

Mason jars can be had in one gallon size,you have to hunt,
Also Sams carries pickled eggs and pigs feet in large glass jars,
These are the type they carry in bars and party shops. You might me able to find an empty one at a local wattering hole.
You have probably found that the problem is getting a good seal.
What I have been doing is using the largest mason jar I can find and then putting my CC blanks in smaller jars so I don't need to use as much solution.
One of the isead I came up with was to cut the bottom put of a gallon cider jug and cut a redess in the a piece of"bread board plastic and pipe that for the vacuum pump.I cound then use plumbers putty to seal the jar to the base.
Haven't tried it yet but it's on the drawing borad.

tipusnr

I can second the effort on getting the pickle jar. I'm still trying to eat all the pickles (and I like pickles). The lid on mine isn't the best design for a seal but am going to try making a gasket. Good luck.

M

Mudder

I also use an old pickle jar of the gallon size. If you have any friends that own or work in a restaurant, that might be a good place to ask.

My lid did not look like it would seal well but I never had a problem with it.

Fred in NC

I am not sure what the strength of the glass in pickle jars is.
All I can say is that I will be very careful.