Mylands cellulose sanding sealer, eee ultrashine wax or both

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Swerve87

Would there be any issues with using EEE Ultrashine wax as my final sanding step and then using Mylands cellulose sanding sealer as a good finishing base for CA? Is that redundant or will the EEE give it issues. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated because I'm new to wood turning and I'm still trying to figure out finishing techniques

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

mecompco

I don't think the CA would stick very well to wax of any sort, nor is it necessary. I don't think the sealer is needed, either. The CA will fill any grain and, after sanding/polishing, will leave a mirror finish. Generally, sand to 400 or 600, clean all the dust off (I use acetone, which also removes any oil for oily wood) and apply your CA finish.

Sanding sealer is good if you're doing a friction polish finish, after which a buffing with wax is fine.

Regards,
Michael

Swerve87

What about exotic woods that have a lot of oils in them would a sanding sealer not help in sealing them in and provide a good base for CA or am I misunderstanding the proper use for sanding sealer?

mecompco

What about exotic woods that have a lot of oils in them would a sanding sealer not help in sealing them in and provide a good base for CA or am I misunderstanding the proper use for sanding sealer?

Sanding sealer's purpose is to fill open grain and create a smooth surface in preparation for the finish. To remove sanding dust, oils, and such, you can use DNA, or as I prefer, acetone. After that, so ahead and apply your CA finish.

Wildman