My CA Method

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.

rglinks

Questions for Fanger..............

Can Mylands FP be used instead of HUT's Plastic Polish?
Takes a while to get these items in where I live (Can't be aired in.)
I got Myland's because I was told it was the best.

I'm new at this and still have a lot of ?'s but I've tried so many different way to finish but nolthing seems to last.

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

Fangar

Ron,

Many people use Myland's over the top of a CA finish for an additional protectant prior to sale, but eventually it will wear off. As far as using it for a polish, I am not real sure that would work. The HUT PP has an abrasive in it that polishes, and is not necessarily a finish. I would think that if you still had some scratches in the surface, the Myland's would likely not do much there.

Maybe give it a try and let us know of your results.

Cheers,

Fangar

snoplow

It was asked once but I don't think it was ever answered, do you apply the sanding sealer with a brush or a paper towel? Lathe spinning or not? By the way, you do some fantastic looking work!
Thanks
Roy

Randy_

Roy: I just tried some Mylands SS for the first time on a new handle I was making for a tool to adjust the garage door spring. Used paper towels for application and it came apart and made a mess. I was just using cheap Dollar Store paper towels so maybe good ones would work better; but I will be using a lint-free cloth from now on.

Fangar

Originally posted by snoplow
<br />It was asked once but I don't think it was ever answered, do you apply the sanding sealer with a brush or a paper towel? Lathe spinning or not? By the way, you do some fantastic looking work!
Thanks
Roy

Sorry about missing that Roy. I use the shop towels (Paper) that I get from Costco. I like them. If you apply to much pressure with paper towels, they will break up. Not a lot of pressure is needed. Lathe spinning. 1800 rpm.