MicroMesh Question

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad
Status
Not open for further replies.
I've happily discovered MicroMesh and am getting much better finishes than before. My question is, is there a point in the progression thru the grits that it is not necessary to stop the lathe and sand along the length of the blanks to remove the spiral scratches left by the previous grit? Fortuneately I have progressed to the point that I'm not leaving tool marks, so the sanding process is quicker, I'm just not one to want to do something that is not necessary.
Thanks,
ken

Signed-In Members Don't See This Ad

ryannmphs

I'm far from an expert on this, but here's my $.02. It depends! Now that's clear as mud. Most of the time I will continue to stop and sand the length of the blank up to and includeing 4000. If I'm getting a real nice finish, I might stop at 3200. So it's usually 6000, 8000, and 12000 that are done in succession. I do however stop the lathe between each and examine the finish and determine if I need to go back and fix a minor imperfection or not.

Ryan

Scott

I have a different theory. Who knows if it's right? We're talking about eliminating visible scratch patterns here, right? If you pay attention to the sanding process up through about 600 grit, you should be beyond visible scratch patterns at that point. It's during these steps that I stop between each grit and sand lengthwise. Once I get into using Micro Mesh, I do not even stop between "grits" (actually, it's "mesh"). Just my way of doing it.

Scott.

Fred in NC

Not different from mine, Scott!

I said: "I do it mostly at the coarser grits." I just did not explain myself very well.

Thanks for the explanation!!!!

jkirkb94

I mainly sand back and forth on the coarser grits but find it is unnecessary on the finer grits as a whole. If I miss blemish, I go back to coarse then follow up with each progressive finer grit again. Kirk[8D]

jimr